top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHannah Tindal

Final Project

We went back and forth with our original idea, but we knew what we ulimately wanted to do related somehow to the use of screens, film, editing, and projections onto art pieces created by use. Each art piece was going to cover a theme in relation to our overall topic, thus creating a system of interconnected themes within the main idea.




We then each met up with our actress and filmed our individual bits. I had to meet with the actress at a different time than my original group, but we each got our footage.

We ultimately knew what we wanted as a general idea in relation to each of our pieces. Caroline took the step and created the script for the vlogger which was going to be in the video that linked everything back together.



We also recorded voices to overlay across our videos. This was supposed to represent the internal doubt and struggle one has when trying to create this perfect image or what they sacrifice if they want to be bought.


For my personal art piece, my hope was to create an abstract use of the vices in relation to the human body. I used name brands for each body part in order to signify the importance brands have on the vice culture. I further destroyed them in some way to illustrate the destruction it can have on the human body. I painted with a variety of colors in order to mix and amplify the colors that were going to be projected on to the painting itself.

For the video, I worked with the actress in once again creating a sort of abstract filming of the use of vices. I then overlayed these clips of her struggling and dependence on these vices with marketing clips throughout history. Most of them happy and positivity of ads made it awkward to overlay with the girl who is struggling, but this was the point. It was supposed to show the damage it can do even though its marketed in a way to make it desired. My audio was a mix of the voices we recorded that mimicked these ads and pared them with internal demons and self doubt. The sounds were manipulated and amplified to put the viewer into dreamish state or a hallucinator state, to understand what the vlogger was essentially going through to keep and promote herself as her own brand.


The day to present was a bit crazy and stressful. Working with so many projectors and computers, it was not surprising to me that it did not work as perfectly as we pictured in our heads. One clip didn't work at all, some screens didn't work, everyone was very stressed, and the audio did not play out as intended. But even still, I believe our message was relayed to the best of our ability.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

RETRIEVING GOOD BOY THE INTERACTIVE SERIES

My project expanded on my previous flowchart assignment regarding where the retrievers originated from. While I thought about going back all the way to wolves, there are so many breeds in between that

bottom of page